Help Little Seattle Ob Fight Blood Cancer!


Yes, I’m calling on you now.
This past November I decided to do something crazy. I signed up to run a marathon for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Look. Some people like to jump out of planes. Some like to bungee jump off of bridges. None of those things are for me. But running 26 miles is an insane feat, to me. We are almost at the half way mark ’til the marathon and I gotta say, I’m pretty freaked out.. but also REALLY excited.. I’ve never done anything like this before. I kind of like that it scares the crap out of me.

Do what you think you are not capable of. Because, you are.
Running 26 miles seems impossible. I’ve never even run half that much before. Hell, I run 4 miles max, usually.
So this is crazy to me but I’m doing it. But lucky for me I’ve got an awesome dog to accompany me on the runs (well for parts of them. Obviously he isn’t running for 2 hours! That would be nuts!). He makes me get up in the morning and I love that. 🙂

That’s why I joined Team in Training in raising funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I’m sure you’ve seen their ads everywhere. I got something in the mail and I said, “Yes! This is what I want to do.” For me, the reason I initially joined was for fitness and pushing myself farther than I have ever gone before. This year is about stretching my comfort zone. I wasn’t sure who I’d sponsor. Since I have no personal/emotional connections to blood cancer, I wondered who I would honor on my run. Either Team in Training introduces you to someone or you run for someone you know.

Then I found Natalie.
Natalie’s mother is on a blogging site I belong to.
She was wishing her little girl a Happy Birthday and celebrated her spirit in fighting Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. Then it hit me. You know things are real. You know they exist but that personal connection gives you understanding. Here is an exert from my fundraising page:

“When she was diagnosed in May of 2012, her parents did everything they could do. Her father worked so they had income to pay the bills while her mother stayed in the hospital with her. Her mother, Kathy, says that in those first few days she slept on the pullout couch and got a ‘crash course on taking care of a child with a severe illness.’

Natalie has had several surgeries including having a chemo port placed in her chest wall so that her veins aren’t damaged by toxic drugs she’ll need in order to survive this. Take a moment to think about what that means for a minute.”

Natalie, who is winning her battle with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

Natalie, who is winning her battle with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

I’ve been following updates on how she’s doing. I’m happy to say that’ she’s kickin’ ass. I’m hoping to kick blood cancer’s ass with her by reaching my fund raising goal by the end of this month. I have challenged myself to reach the $2,000 mark by the end of January. Right now, as I am writing this post out, I am sitting at $355. With the help of the community, we raised that together within the first 5 days! That was way  more than I thought I would do. Fundraising is scary. I mean, I have to raise thousands of dollars. I have to ask people for it.. and whoa nelly, for as a blunt and so-not-shy individual.. it had me gulping down some fear (told you I was pushing myself this year).

But all of the generous donations in those few days inspired me. It lit a fire under me. You have no idea how much those $5 & $10 donations MATTER. They all add up. Every time I checked my email, my heart leapt to see people from all over the world giving. Do you know how incredible that feels? I was near tears when I realized, Ohmygosh. This actually works! People are so kind and generous! People I don’t even know were giving. That was powerful.

Let’s get this party started, shall we?
Here’s the deal:

I’m about to make your life awesome for donating.
Every $10 you donate between now and the end of January, you will be entered to win a $300+ value prize. Depending on where you live, the prize changes. No matter what, the winner gets a Thank You basket customized for you! Want maid service for a few hours? BAM! You got it. Want to see a show (Cirque, anyone)? No sweat. Would you rather take a cooking class? No problemo.
The gift basket will consist of 1 awesome service/treat that you will want to use and lots of little goodies accustomed for you. Just make sure to allow up to two weeks to put your basket together!

If you don’t live in Seattle, then you’ll get a gift certificate to your favorite place to eat for 2.
If you do live in Seattle, then you’ll get two tickets for a fancy schmancy dinner cruise for 2 via Argosy Cruises. This is swank. No small potato prizes here. Hey, go big or go home, right?

Argosy_Facilities_Main

But the sooner you donate the better: Each ticket purchased ($10) will count as TWO for the raffle through Sunday, January 20th. I will be doing “Double Days” throughout the end of January as well. Wouldn’t a donation also make an excellent birthday gift? I think so!

new-brazil-with-five-dollar-prices-july-2012

Also, I’m throwing a Samba for Donations party at Cellars Lounge in Belltown on January 24th. Here’s why you should come:
1) Your raffle ticket counts double that night
2) There is NO COVER charge
3) The party starts at 10pm
4) The drinks are fantastic
5) No one cares if you can samba (just show up with your smiling self)
6) OH and the LIVE BRAZILIAN BAND, Bamba Brazil, will be playing.
They are fantastic every time.
7) Did I mention it’s a party to raise funds to fight against blood cancer?
8) Did I mention NO COVER charge!!! Crikey. For me, that’s enough.

Look, I know that not everyone is excited to go out on a Thursday night but you’ve had time to recuperate! The Holidays are over and 2013 has begun! People need your help and this is a FUN way to do it!

If you can’t attend, tell your friends. If you can’t participate, that’s okay! Tell people. Aside from donating, that is THE best way you can help us fight against blood cancer. Spread the word and let’s have a good time helping others. Email, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr. Whatever you use!

Let us not forget how very real this is for many, many people and their families. Let us celebrate their lives. Join me in making 2013 awesome.
Here’s the donation page.

Leave a Reply

