Thinking About the New Year


21-December-2012-THE-END-postnoon-news-435x292

Well, I don’t know about you guys, but since the apocalypse my life has been awesome. I mean, I knocked those zombies out. 😛
Look, we all knew nothing was going to happen. The craze of the Mayans “predicting the world ending” was ridiculous. Seattle Pockets posted what the Mayans really predicted and I, for one, am grateful for that. There are some fantastic article links on her blog! Check it out. I celebrated the beginning of a new consciousness by dancing and watching the sun come up. It was a great way to celebrate if I do say so myself. How did you celebrate?

The New Year is upon us.
Resolutions? I don’t know. I typically don’t like to do those. If you want to do something, do it. Don’t wait for a specific date.
But.. I kinda dig it too. The New Year is a good time for reflection.
So instead I suggest a new thought to implement in your life.
But it should be more specific than something like, “I’m going to live one day at a time!”
What the hell does that mean, Captain Obvious? Technically, you are sort of forced to live one day at a time.
What is the attitude you need to change? We all need to change something.

As for me, I’ve been working on “sticking to the plan.” Every day, I think about how I want my work to go, what I want to accomplish, etc. I tend to confuse myself with “How should I execute this” or “What should I do?” questions instead of just acting. I can say I’ve made vast improvements in this area of my life. It is so thrilling to cross things off of my list every week. Though, I’ve never crossed everything off my list. Perhaps that will be the next goal.

I’m completing my first marathon this year for Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. It is my first marathon, ever. I’ve never even run a 5k before! My other goal is to dance samba with Vamola this year in a parade. I saw them for the first time 2 years ago at Folklife Festival. It was like the heavens opened up, calling me.. “Aaaaapril.. drums, feathers and heels, oh my! DO IT! DO IT NOW!” So I am. My long term goal with samba is to be a samba queen in Seattle. Not kidding. I have no idea why this goal is so important but I’m rollin’ with it. Have you done one of those 101 in 1001 lists? This might be a good time to try it.

What are some of your goals or thoughts for the upcoming year?
What are you grateful for this year?

Leave a Reply

