El Diablo: Need a Little Sin in Your Coffee?


I swore I’d never become this person when I moved to Seattle but it’s happened. I’m stuck. Once I find a neighborhood I love, it becomes the only one I do most of my stuff in. Working, eating, dancing, shopping, etc. That neighborhood happens to be Capitol Hill for me. I mean, c’mon, how can you not be madly in love with it as much as I am? When I was single, I was seriously worried when I met guys who didn’t love Cap Hill. What? Where you live says a lot about who you are!

Being loyal is great; being tunnel visioned isn’t always great. It can be a hindrance. At first I was bummed when my sister moved to Queen Anne but after walking around with her a few weeks ago, I’m glad she did. Her move opened up my entire world! We stumbled into a coffee shop called El Diablo to play a board game. It’s a latin themed coffee shop with drinks like cubano, cordadito, mexican hot chocolate, and my personal favorite, cafe con leche. It was.. awesome. They also serve snack foods like cuban toast (just buttered cuban bread toasted or you can get it with cuban sandwich fixins), to die for desserts, plus wine and  beer!

It made me miss my travel days when I was in Florida. You won’t hear me saying that one often but in America, Florida has some of the best cuban sandwiches.

In true latin style, the place was painted in vibrant reds, oranges, greens and blues. Color threw up in there in a good way. Like it was such an awesome night of drinking tequila, it was worth it. An added bonus was the I Love Lucy decor in the bathrooms. Seriously, I fell head over heels in love with the place between the decor, the menu and the awesome barista behind the counter. Apparently other people have noticed the baristas (in a different way):

Long story short. You should check this place out. It’s right on Queen Anne Ave N where all the stuff is happening. This place rocks. I’m going back for more.

Leave a Reply

