Alki Beach


Its interesting it takes a long time to explore a city properly, isn’t it? It is to me. Makes you think about the trips people take around the world to spend one week there. I’ve lived in Seattle for 9 months and I’ve only explored Greenwood, Greenlake, Capitol Hill, Central District, Downtown and a bit of the Ballard/Wallace/Fremont area. I’ve finally made to West Seattle just after the brink of winter. *smiles*

A new friend of mine suggested we visit Alki Beach this weekend. The weather forecast predicted rain but I’ve learned not to pay much attention to the weatherman and I’m glad I chose not to. As a side note, I had a weatherman as a role model once. He taught in my jr. high school as a substitute teacher sometimes. He was pretty cool. People respect teachers more than weathermen though.. kind of sad now that I think of it.

Anyway, it was sunny and crisp air pricked my skin. Its a lovely sensation. *smiles*

My friend and I had breakfast down at Alkai Cafe which I found via The Stranger. By the way, this is one of the best .. um.. I don’t know what to call it honestly. It was so funny, I cried and gasped for breath as I tried to read it out loud to my sister before breakfast. Far better than the “sunday funnies.” OH man. We did that red-faced, hold your stomach, muscles stretched tight in some areas and contracted in others silent laughter. Then shrieked to let out all the pressure. Marvelous time. *grins*

The food at Alki Cafe was good. Next time, if I have room in my belly, I’ll hit the bakery. I love bakeries. Hey! There’s a great one in Madrona that deep fries crossaints?!! Oh good grief. I’m so glad I’m moving away to another neighbhorhood. That would be dangerous.

My friend and I had a great walk up and dow the beach. A great view of the Olympics and boats goign to and fro across the water. I was jealous of the kayakers. I can’t wait to be good enough to do that myself *grins*

Comments
One Response to “Alki Beach”
  1. Mandy says:

    These are so lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

