It’s Pouring Out There


Nothing quite like standing in pouring rain with one hand on the guard rail of a ship and the other hand boasting an Alaskan Amber. The purse squished against my body, protecting my percious books from getting soaked while my friends. I did remarkably well considering how hard it was raining and how silly I was behaving. Desert Solitaire is only mildly damp.

I argued you cannot change the world through government jobs. Am I alone in this?

The Spirit, one of the ships used for Argosy’s Christmas Tour, passed with lights and one with an 8 piece vocal ensemble singing Christmas Carols-which my friends and I sang along with a bit too loudly, likely. It was a grand time and I’m glad we went. Its possible we were a bit distracting but mildly entertaining in our soaked through boots and overly friendly demeanor. Who doesn’t love wet, happy people?

It was a grand total of 2 1/2 hours. Lunch boxes, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages were available. Pictures are taken with Santa and there is a “Ho ho ho” contest for those of us wisest enough to go after it: ages 2-10 years old.  I ended the night in the rain singing “Waters of March.” Pourtugese is lovely isn’t it?

Anyway, what amazes me about Seattle is how off-putting the rain is to many people who live here. I don’t get it. You live here. You endure this constantly. Aren’t you used to it yet?

I have yet to see this truly, terribly, awful winter Seattlites keep talking about. There seems bit a little sun each day.

Seattle, I love you dearly but I am being to think you are quite ungrateful.

That being said, the rain also kept me from snowboarding this weekend. I have never been and I’m not familiar with mountain lifestyle yet so my friends and I decided to wait until next weekend. If I were more experienced, I think I would have gone anyway.

Comments
2 Responses to “It’s Pouring Out There”
  1. Louis says:

    Hi, Was reading your “Main Street” blog and thought I might confirm your instincts about the tax cuts, etc.

    Consider that when Jimmy Carter was in office, the highest tax bracket was a staggering 70%. While it may not have had a direct influence on determining whether Bill Gates would grow his software company so big so fast, it is fairly easy to state that Gates had more ‘personal incentive’ once the Reagan tax alterations slashed that ceiling down below the 40% line.

    As you know, he has hired scores of people over the years and they as a team have forever altered the information age.

    (FYI – Gates got his big break upon signing a contract with IBM to put Microsoft software on all IBM computers roughly 30 years ago)

    Anyway, if Gates had lived for very long in a world where, upon getting to a point where if he earned profits greater than X million dollars a year, he would only get 30% of those profits himself, then his incentive to grow much bigger than your favorite restaurant would become far less.

    Now of course there are far more than two schools of thought on how much to tax the rich, but, well, if you or I amass $100,000 and put it in the corner bank, the FDIC will insure our deposit. Once a truly wealthy individual gets up very far above that, he simply must do something with his money to keep it diversified so as to protect him a bit in the event of a financial wipeout in some industry.

    With that in mind, he can hardly help but to spread his money around and stimulate business and the economy in that way.

    I’m sure you can reason your way through the difference between the long-ago “70%” highest tax bracket and that of today, which is near to 40%. If you research the trends of the U.S. economy over the last 75 years, you would sure notice a strong upswing beginning in the early 1980’s and nearly coinciding with the Reagan income tax overhaul.

    I’m sorry for imagining that you might truly gain from something that got a little too wordy!

    ps – that isn’t really my e-mail either (hides eyes)

    • OH man!! Thank you so much for taking time out to write this reply and to visit my blog. I highly appreciate it 🙂 Don’t be a stranger! Please comment whenever you feel moved to.

      I always appreciate feedback, ideas, discussion, opinions, etc.. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

