Snowpants


EnRoot is playing tonight at Egan’s in Ballard at 11pm.
No cover!

*****

Here it comes, here it comes. I’m turning into a crazy Seattlite (but I refuse to become bitter about the weather!). This weekend I begin snowboarding. I hear I will spend a lot of time on my bottom and snowpants are very important. Snowpants.

I grew up in Northwest Ohio for part of my life. Snow is not unfamiliar to me. Snow is my friend; keeps me warm and blocks the wind. But snowpants? Huh. I’m the kind of girl who wears heels in snow. Dresses in snow. Snowpants. I didn’t know how to shop for snowpants (actually, I’m kind of a terrible shopper) but lucky for me my friend is a genius shopper! She found snowpants at Marshall’s (on the eastside) for $40!!! I was expecting to pay nearly $100.

Crystal Mountain has a great deal for beginners like myself. The Ski/Ride 1-2-3 Package offers everything you need: 3 group lessons (The first lesson is 5 hours. The following 2 are 2 1/2 hours), ski rental and lift ticket. This is a very cheap way to get a person hooked to skiing. I’m in trouble because I love snow and I love the mountains and I have never minded falling on my ass.

My friend who talked me into this has made me swear I will go to all 3 lessons. She says everyone hates it the first few times but after the first 3 days you can do stuff and wind up loving it. I can’t wait 🙂 I have no idea what I’m in for. This is what I love about this area: full of surprises.

I have a feeling snow and I are about to have a very new relationship.
So here’s to falling on my ass for a few hours this sunday. Can’t wait to tell you how it will go. *smiles*

*****

Guess what Seattle?
We get rain this weekend!!
😀

Comments
2 Responses to “Snowpants”
  1. Mandy says:

    You make me wish I could be out there too. 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Posted by littleseattleobservationist on May 18, 2012 · Leave a Comment  I love Seattle Magazine (Hey! Where is my subscription? I haven’t seen it in months! Maybe I forgot to re-subscribe ). I love getting their Thursday email of “Musts.” In case you were still itching to ski and haven’t tried it yet this season (ahem, <looks at self>), Crystal Mountain is still open and it plans to run right through Memorial Day weekend (oh frick, oh frick! Folklife Festival is coming up!). I’ve yet to go. Yes, I’ve been a baa-aa-aa-aad Seattlite. Funny thing is I bought snow pants. Remember this entry? […]



Leave a Reply

