Seattle Center’s Fizzle over Bastille Day


I expected drunk people meandering around, pot smokers giggling, food and bead crafting in abundance.. I expected sun. This wasn’t a completely naive thought. I have been to festivals down by the Seattle Center a few times this summer. I thought the Bastille Festival held there this past Sunday would be something similar.  It was not even close.

It was held indoors, a few streamers of red, blue and white hung from the rafters, dangling over a few booths. There was a photo contest but everything was surrounded by a fast food court. I don’t know about you but Starbucks and Orange Julius kind of kill the mood for a celebration of the Frenchy French for me. And no one was there.

Well except for a few parents and the friendly homeless guy who just needed a place to crash for a few minutes. He seemed to be having a good time.

That poor guy up on stage. He was a trooper, that one. I only heard him stumble once. Good job.. It’s hard to speak in front of a dead, unenthused crowd. I could tell he worked hard on that speech.

The Legos were the coolest thing there. Eh. Apparently the place to be the Public Market on Bastille Day. Count me in.

Leave a Reply

