Initial Glimpse into Seattle


The very first thing I noticed about Seattlites happened before I ever arrived. I switched my location from my hometown of Toledo, OH to Seattle, WA on a website I was frequenting. The pictures of locals changed drastically. Toledoeans have lots of pictures indoors: bars, computer rooms and in front of their t.v. … Seattlites strut their stuff on rocks by rivers and like to carry their coffee in one hand with a fish in the other. I’m exaggerating just a little but you get the picture. Apparently, the more outdoorsy you are, the cooler you are as a new friend told me during my first week in Seattle. There is a battle, albeit polite one, over who is more outdoorsy. Seems to be true.

You know what else? The bus drivers say “thank you” when you exit the bus.

Seattle’s transportation card is called the ORCA card: One Regional Card for All. I suspect someone just thought of the name Orca and realized they’d have to make it into an acronym to be legit. I realize that the card works for many forms of transportation but I can’t help but wonder if Seattle is attempting to rule the world through a friendly face. As my dear friend pointed out, “You mean.. One regional card for all .. as in ‘One ring to rule them all?!'” Precisely.

Welcome to Seattle.

I’m a midwest girl with southern upbringing. I enjoy the slow, easy pace of Seattle and the wet, flowery air. For some, the “Seattle Freeze” can be rather disturbing. Acquaintances are easy to come by but friends are far and few in between. This is what people have told me but I can’t help thinking people over react to things. Isn’t this life, in general? It seems the “Seattle Freeze” is a conversation representation of Seattle relationships. I keep hearing from women that its difficult to find men to date in this town. They might be right but I wonder if this town isn’t too polite. Its a little passive aggressive and seems to store up some of its irritation for short bursts such as the one I witnessed a few days ago at the library (Oh yes; obtaining my library card was practically the very first thing I did).

A middle aged woman was about to sit down at a computer when a young girl swooped in and told her, with a smile, that she was using it. The young girl was on the phone and the middle aged woman muttered “Well it looks like you’re not using it.. on the phone..” Then gave me a cold look expressing her frustration and left. The young girl was filling in information online that she could only get from the person on the other line, so it seems. I guess even Seattlites lose their big-picture thinking momentarily.

They have a lot garbage pick ups.. Compost, recycling and regular garbage. What is left after the first two though?

You can find anything here: a good philly cheesesteak at Tat’s down by Pioneer’s Square, a gorgeous architectural library, free vibrator’s (check out The Stranger this week. There are coupons in there somewhere), Tibetan food, tons of various artists to discover, sports (including a dodgeball group from meetup.com) and of course a great cup of coffee is never far away.

Not to mention, nearly everyone here is willing to help out-possibly a little too much for their own individual health but maybe not. I’m curious to see what I run into. So far, its a lovely place to be. I’m glad I made the decision to move out here. I think anyone should be proud to call it home.

Comments
3 Responses to “Initial Glimpse into Seattle”
  1. Anonymous says:

    “”Seattle’s transportation card is called the ORCA card: One Regional Card for All. I suspect someone just thought of the name Orca and realized they’d have to make it into an acronym to be legit. I realize that the card works for many forms of transportation but I can’t help but wonder if Seattle is attempting to rule the world through a friendly face.””

    Have they taught you about the S-outh L-ake U-nion T-rolley yet ??

  2. anonymous says:

    It’s at http://www.ridetheslut.com (extremely “SFW”) to the surprise of no one.

Leave a Reply

