Tacompton & Worldly Matters


I had my very first visit to Tacoma (i.e. “Tacompton”) this past week. As my co-workers and I drove back to the office, I asked what that big building was on the side of the road. “What big building?”
“The big round building.”
“The Tacoma Dome? You  need to get out of Seattle more!”

“The Island” effect has always interested me about New York City. No, it’s not an island but it certainly can feel like one. Everything is there. Many people don’t venture out of the city for years. Seclusion can be dangerous. My first week in Seattle I was fascinated with the lack of enthusiasm to travel to various neighborhoods. Either people were very active in leaving the city or they very active in select neighborhoods. Over time, I became the latter. “My whole world consists of two neighborhoods.. but I guess that’s because it’s all so convenient and right there.”

I’ve been to Everett; I’ve been to Renton and to Tukwila; I’ve been to Bainbridge and of course I’ve been to a few parks and hiking trails. I’ve now been to Tacoma now.. Eh.

I hear Redmond is nice.

I haven’t seen what’s so special about Tacoma other than it’s truly ghettoness (which is why I moved away from Toledo, OH). So far, I’m not impressed but I hear its ports are busier than Seattle’s.

*****

Recently I read, “We are meant to lose the people we love. How else would we know how important to us?” I’m not sure we are meant to lose the ones we love so much as it is an inevitable tragedy. I hope for no one that the last half of the statement rings any truth though it is understandable a loss is explained this way since it is a loved one’s absence that leaves its mark too. Newness is always strange.

Obviously, man of us have Japan in our thoughts. I have always said if you cannot donate your time, then donate your money to those who can donate their time. Text the word “REDCROSS” to the number 90999 to send $10 to the RedCross. Remember the usual rates of messaging may apply. You can also obtain a receipt by going to this link, www.redcross.org/receipt.

What is most impressive to me is the way this tragedy has been handled. I stand by in awe of how quickly the word can respond to someone’s need these days. It is a two-edged sword but this is the good side. What if this massive earthquake had hundreds of years ago? Only the people impacted would know for quite some time and left to deal with the disaster in the midst of grief. I’m really glad little ol’ me, thousands of miles away, can help in some way immediately. Though it doesn’t feel enough.

I just read in last week’s The Stranger (I know, I’m behind. Pathetic) that the Pope has “officially exonerated” the Jews for their “alleged killing of Jesus.” As David Schmader of the “Last Days” section in The Stranger pointed out, the only person who should be blamed for Jesus’s death is God himself since he’s the one who sent Jesus to his death anyway according to the Bible. Anyway killing Jesus was just acting out God’s will. Shouldn’t they be given a break? Great observation.

At first the gesture from the Pop infuriated me until I realized what important statement it was he had made. I may not take the Pop seriously but other people do. By saying this, he was making way for forgiveness of the death of a beloved figure to many people. Perhaps it will help ease some hate in the world over time.

Comments
4 Responses to “Tacompton & Worldly Matters”
  1. Seymour says:

    That’s “the Taco Dome”, per the locals.

    And you really need to get to Puyallup, Talequah, Pysht, Humptulips, Sequim, and Sedro Woolley. (none for any reasons beyond their names, except, maybe, to Puyallup for the 7th biggest fair in America)

  2. Lala says:

    The Eastside (Redmond, Bellevue, Kirkland) is very nice and upscale (I grew up there) but has become quite overpriced. It’s worth a visit just for the beauty though. :-)

    • I have briefly been to Kirkland and Bellevue a few times and you’re right, it is beautiful there. Redmond is definitely on my list of places to visit.

      Out of curiosity, how did you find this blog? Thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

